Home | پشتو | دری |
General InformationExpand General Information
Structure of MJExpand Structure of MJ
Latest NewsExpand Latest News
Sunday 25 September 2022


The press office of the Meshrano Jirga

May 10, 2021

A social meeting between the Afghanistan-Canada Friendship Group was held on 5 May via video conference in collaboration with the Afghan Embassy in Canada.

The social dialogue was led by Engineer Hasibullah Kalimzai, Chairman of the International Affairs Commission of the Meshrano Jirga, and Salma Ataullah Jan, Member of the Canadian Senate and other members of Parliament from both countries. The meeting focused on the empowerment of Afghan women, the role of women in the peace and security process, and the seeking of cooperation. During the dialogue, Engineer Hasibullah Kalimzai, on behalf of the Afghan Parliament, thanked Canada for its cooperation with Afghanistan in various fields and said that holding such meetings was a good opportunity to raise the voice of the Afghan people and called for scholarships for Afghan students at different filed. 

Subsequently, Gul Ahmad Kamin, Senator Fauzia Sadat Samkani, and Zahra Noawrzoi, members of the National Assembly, also spoke about the related issues, and considered such meetings positive and called for more Canadian cooperation with Afghanistan, especially in parliamentary affairs and other areas.

Then, on behalf of the Canadian Parliament, Salma Ataullah Khan and Francisco Sorbara spoke and assured the continuation of Canada’s assistance to Afghanistan, saying that the strengthening of parliamentary relations between the two countries could be effective in these issues. It worth mentionable, that Senators Engineer Haseebullah Kaleemzi and Fauzia Sadat Samkani, members of the Senate, Engineers Helmand Helmand, Gol Ahmad Kamin, and Zahra Nourzoi, members of the Wolesi Jirga and from the side of Canada, Salma Ataullah, Mobina Jafar and Mohammad Iqbal Rawalia, members of the Senate, Francisco Sorbara, Ruby Sohata, Robert Kichen, and Selma Zahid, members of the House of Commons of Canada attended this social meeting.